Enneagram - Riso and Hudson Version

The Enneagram is a personality typing system that consists of nine different types.  Everyone is considered to be one single type, although one can have traits belonging to other ones.  While it's uncertain whether this type is genetically determined, many believe it is already in place at birth.
The nine types are universally identified by the numbers 1 to 9.  These numbers have a standard way of being placed around the Enneagram symbol.  
  1. The Reformer
  2. The Helper
  3. The Achiever
  4. The Individualist
  5. The Investigator
  6. The Loyalist
  7. The Enthusiast
  8. The Challenger
  9. The Peacemaker

People of a particular type have several characteristics in common, but they can be quite different nevertheless.  It depends among other things on their level of mental health.  Unhealthy (neurotic) people from a particular type can look quite different from healthy ones.  Riso and Hudson distinguish 9 levels of mental health and have type descriptions for each level of the enneagram type.  
(description above is from eclecticenergies website)

My Reading List:
The Wisdom of the Enneagram Riso and Hudson
This book is a great guide book for understanding the different types and levels.

Attending a workshop with Judy Wilbratte at St. Paul's UMC has been the best resource on this topic.
Not only can we understand how we process information and react to stimuli, we can more effectively interact with others the better we understand how they process information and react.